Yesterday I linked to an article about a racial incident at George Fox University, and  thanks to Rob, I now have a link to a more current and positive update, one that more accurately reflects the vision and character of the school, it’s leaders and student body, and their continued commitment to racial harmony and diversity.  Here’s a quote from the University’s President: 

“The good news is that it has worked.  For the first time in the history of George Fox 25 percent of our entering class this year came from diverse backgrounds. We have 17 Act Six students who are fully engaged in our community.  We are becoming the place I believe God has called us to be.  This change will not come without challenges, like yesterday’s, but we will work through them together.

Behind me today are the Act Six students and some of the people who support the mission and calling of Jesus at George Fox University. I want you to understand that I love all of you. You are my brothers and sisters in Christ. What you see up here today is a reflection of what the Kingdom of God will look like in heaven.  John in the Book of Revelations described heaven this way: ‘After this I looked, and there was a great multitude that no one could count, from every nation, from all tribes and peoples and languages, standing before the throne and before the lamb . . . ‘ We want to be a part of this Kingdom.” 

I hope that you’ll take some time and check out the whole response.  You can link here http://www.georgefox.edu/response.  Thanks again, Rob!

Roc

